Skip to content

No Boundaries

September 1, 2011

Can someone who lives in the Raleigh Durham Area PLEASE tell me why I-40 is SUCH a mess EVERY SINGLE DAY during Rush hour?!

131

133

For god’s sake! The dern highway is 4 lanes wide!!  And yes… that is a sea of cars all the way up the hill… your eyes do not mistake you.

I looked at this for my entire ride downtown today…

136

Yes. I was going 30 in a 65. WTF?!

and yes, my tire light is on… and I’m WAY over on my oil change… don’t tell my dad (sorry dad if you’re reading this…  I’m taking my car into the shop when I get back from Boston next week Open-mouthed smile )

Needless to say.. I was LESS than impressed. Good thing I anticipated this and left 45 minutes early.

139138

142144

You know why I-40 is such a mess? Because A-holes like me are taking pictures of themselves while they’re driving / stuck in traffic.

Don’t tell my mom. (sorry mom if you’re reading this…)

Anyway, after I finally made it to Fleet Feet, I tagged along with the half marathon training group for a 3 mile run.

It was kind of unorganized everyone seemed like they already knew each other, and I was really intimidated I’m not going to lie.

So… I just followed along and was clipping at a 9:55 pace, when I started to get tired and saw 3 ladies walking.

I ran up between them, and I asked if they were doing run / walk intervals. They replied yes, and so I said AWESOME! and stopped to walk with them.  We did 4 minutes running and 2 minutes walking

Brenda, Lonnie and Anna: Thank you for being so sweet and letting me run with y’all tonight! you made me feel welcome!

After our fun run, we headed inside for the New Balance No Boundaries Program Mentor Meeting.

I cannot tell you how EXCITED I am to be a mentor! There were tons of awesome people at the meeting and everyone seemed so enthusiastic! I cannot wait to give back to the running community, and help beginning 5k-ers  get into running and enjoy the sport as much as I do!

 

Tell me : Have you ever run with a new group of people? Were you intimidated? Have you ever mentored a 5k group or coached a running group?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 5:07 AM

    I have never run with a ‘group’ per se. No one likes me. Really. LOL Once I ran with Kevin (Egle from RWBF) and my friend Al. And I’ve done a handful of other runs with one other person. Rare though. I’m always either too fast or too slow for any group.

    Glad you had a good experience, and the program sounds amazing!

    • September 2, 2011 5:33 AM

      uh. I don’t think it’s that no one likes you Sam LOL! I remember when you ran with Kevin! I”m still jealous! I wish I was in MI at the time with you guys!

  2. September 2, 2011 7:24 AM

    Really. The navy wife world, especially amongst officers wives is small. I made the mistake of standing up to our old CO’s wife and now I have quite the reputation. Don’t know if you remember Mary Antonaros from RW but I did run with her some. She’s a big yogi too and a sweetheart of a girl.

    Kevin is a good guy…I ran with him a time or two and we met up at a race that Al and I ran. He’s definitely an inspiration. Just like you!

    Well if you ever want to travel far far away, we have an open door policy here in Japan! Don’t you want to climb Mt. Fuji and rock out a dancer pose at sunrise at the peak?!

    • September 2, 2011 10:50 AM

      Please and please!! Where can I sign up! 🙂

      Id love to be with a fellow yogi rocking dancer poses. Maybe you can teach me how to get into side crow!

      • September 2, 2011 8:08 PM

        Not this girl, I can’t do side crow! Anything with flexibility (dancer, side crow, binding ANYTHING isn’t in my reach these days, I can balance and do strength tho)

        Oh and NC traffic…oh how I remember it! I used to get up at 4am to leave Gso for Raleigh on Monday mornings to get back to class. But I’d take it, in a heartbeat right now!

      • September 2, 2011 8:31 PM

        oh god. I bet it’s SO much better than riding Japan’s crowded public transit. I couldnt imagine. I get so claustrophobic.

Leave a Reply

