Skip to content

How I Handle Hot Weather Running

July 10, 2011

‘Tis the season in North Carolina where it’s time to think about running in the extreme heat. Hades Summer has arrived, and I have been asked by lots of people how I handle running in the heat.

Here’s How:

HYDRATE. Dear Jesus Hydrate… PLEASE. if you do one thing make sure you drink LOTS of H2O. You can thank me later when you don’t find that half of your face is numb or you stop sweating while you’re running… been there, done that, scary as HELL. so PLEASE hydrate. please.

007

 

Get your butt out of bed – Like I said… it’s that time of the year where you have to get up at O’ dark – thirty before the sun comes up to get in your workout. Set your alarm, and do NOT hit the snooze button. Put that sucker across the room so that you HAVE to get up and turn it off. See? There’s no turning back now, you have to put your sneakers on and get your butt out the door.

 

Wear light colored clothing and for goodness sake, get some good socks. I swear, Summer is the WORST for me in terms of blisters. I make sure I have wicking socks so that accidents like this don’t happen…

I also wear light colored clothing so that it reflects the sun and doesn’t absorb the sun. Plus, I look a lot less like a sweaty mo-fo wearing white than I do bright pink or blue. Although… Pink IS my favorite color. 🙂

010

 

Pick a running path that is shaded. Even though you’re running at the ass crack of dawn, it doesn’t always mean that it’s not hot outside. Shade helps decrease the heat and provides a reprieve (at least for me) in terms of my comfort and breathing while I’m running.

30179_525219190088_71700942_31237285_5292458_n

 

Did I mention hydrate?

Oh I did?

oh…

HYDRATE!

 

 

 

How do you prep for running in the summer heat, is it Hot where you are in the summer?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 7:34 PM

    I used to love starting long runs at 4am! The world’s quiet and dark, you get to see everything around you ‘wake up’ and there is no escaping heat here to Guam no matter what time of day or year you run. Good tips! Made me realize that almost all my workout clothes are dark…black, navy, purple.

  2. July 11, 2011 7:34 PM

    Oh and love SIGG bottles! 🙂 (yet another thing we can’t get here)

    • July 11, 2011 7:37 PM

      Oh my gosh I love my sigg bottle. I put my cold water from the britta in there, and it stays cold for ever!

      And yes, running in NC all of my clothes are yellow, white and bright green, or orange haha! it’s just too darn hot in the summer!

Leave a Reply

