Skip to content

Back by popular Demand

February 14, 2011

It took me a good long while and some real inner contemplation with myself whether or not I would start this blog back again or not. You see, I kind of gave up slash fell off of the blogging bandwagon, took a running hiatus, am completely stressed out because of a few life changing things, and am for SURE not eating like I should be and have thus gained about 20lbs in the last year or so of my life. Also,  after reading blogs like these. It made me feel bad about myself and my running and my eating in a sense (this could be the inner control freak in me speaking) so I got upset, and gave up and decided that I would never be as popular as some of the “bigger bloggers” out there. Do I still read each of their blogs? HECK yeah I do, I think that each of them do well at what they do and I admire each and every one of them. I have just come to realize that I cannot compare myself to anyone.

Then I had a revelation.

I’m not blogging for anyone but me.

The end. Plain and simple. Cut and dry.

I’ve been going through a lot of things lately, Starting a new job and a few personal things that I’m not going to spell out on here. If you know me and are my friend in real life, and or my parents you know what I’m taking about, but I’ve come to a couple of conclusions.

I am not a food blogger (confession: I love to cook and bake but Brian does most of the cooking and I am not in the least way creative with my meals, infact if it’s not Italian and I didn’t learn from my dad, then I probably wont make it or know how to make it)

I am not “skinny” although I used to be, at least in my perception. well “healthy weight for a 5’5’’  girl, but I went about It the entirely wrong way (ED hello what?! omg) but anyway, I’d like to work at getting healthy and back to my “happy weight” the right way.

That’s it. In a nutshell.

Then I thought about things I love and the direction that I could take this blog to make it more enjoyable to me and whoever out there in the world wide web reads this thing.

1. HB:

125

What can I say, this dude is amazing and makes me entirely happy. He’s witnessed more “Mary meltdowns” and has seen me cry more times in the last 3 weeks than I think my parents have seen me cry in my life. AND to top it off, he didn’t run the opposite direction. What can I say, he’s a keeper. not to mention his cooking skillz are off ‘da HOOK! ommmnomnomnom.

2.The pups

099118

These guys are crazy, and even misbehave a lot of the time, but I love them and they keep me on my toes. Especially when I’m alone with the both of them. It amazes me how much Corbin (right) has grown on Tika (left) at first when we brought corbean (as we like to call him) home, Tika merely tolerated him. now, she picks 99% of the fights that they get into.

3. Running

099100202309

Running is my passion. (next to ballet of course which I have done for 20 years and forever will be my number one true and only love) It’s time that I like to take for myself and let my mind wander free, and do what it wants. I love to run. The end. sometimes I get frustrated because I know that I have gained weight in the stress of the last year, have not eaten as well as I should have and have not run as much as I should have. I want to make it my ultimate goal to have a “comeback year” if you will and get to be where I want to be, faster and stronger than ever. In the right way of course

 

So I’m not really sure where I am going with this post, other than I guess to say. I am going to blog about whatever I want to blog about. Really I want to make this blog my journey to find my “happy weight” and to become a better and faster runner in the process with Handsome Boyfriend, the pups, family, travel and live as we know it mixed in.  I hope that by blogging at least once a day about my runs, it’ll keep me accountable for my exercise and my mood (as suggested by my NP which I am not going into detail about here) I’m not going to tell y’all how much I weigh (I don’t want this to be a trigger for anyone) I just will report occasional successes and keep the numbers to myself.

I’m not going to post 3 times a day. I’m a nurse for god’s sake I have all I can do to make a can of soup and call it a meal when I come home from working 12 hours. You can know though and I will promise you that 4/7 days a week I will post a couple of times a day, just because I’m off and I can, that way, I’ll keep y’all coming back for more, and you’ll never know what to expect.

You wont find many pictures of food on here, unless its an epic recipe made by me or by HB that I am dying to share with everyone. I have come to find that constant pictures of oatmeal and salad are about as exciting as a trip to the dentist. I can promise though that you WILL find pictures of races I’ve run, friends and family on here on a regular basis.

So, This is me, Merrberruns. Running to my healthy happy self. with a little bit of life mixed in.

Take me or leave me, but most importantly, enjoy. And leave a comment once in a while so I know you’re out there Smile

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 10:55 PM

    blogging is fun. until it’s not. i think alot people have that issue.. it’s all fun and wonderful then you all the sudden forget that you started the blog for yourself. so have fun with it! 🙂

  2. Shannon permalink
    February 14, 2011 11:07 PM

    I love reading your blogs……

  3. February 14, 2011 11:16 PM

    I’m VERY HAPPY to see you back, missed reading your quips. I can completely understand where you’re coming from about the other, popular bloggers. In fact, for the most part, I don’t read any of them anymore (except HEABS) because I find the info often redundant, triggering and superior, even though that’s quite likely not their intent. And honestly, it gets old to ask the same half dozen bloggers various questions and see them answer almost all their readers, but you are never good enough for a response. I have a lot more free time now. 🙂

    I envy you focusing on your running again. It just won’t happen for me for awhile, and looks like we’ll be here 2 more years after Sept which = more lung issues. BUT…what I applaud is that you’re getting back to the roots of what you love. We should all focus on that! Breaks never hurt, sometimes they can show you whether or not what you stepped away from is missed enough to find your way back to. You’re at an age of growing, shaping who you want to be, and that can be an interesting time to put it mildly. You’re doing wonderfully be YOU and growing into YOU.

    Keep posting…about all the random things that make you smile!

    • February 15, 2011 10:46 PM

      I agree Sam, that’s why I stopped writing for a while and I think why I stopped running, that and a lot of other things happened all at once that were kind of overwhelming, but you know…

      I have stopped reading just about all of them too. They are triggering to me, and although I enjoy each of them and have met a couple of them, I dont want to put myself through that, because I too feel like I am never worthy of a response, and I feel like whenever I ask a question to either of them, I am trying to compete to be “popular” which is not what blogging is about. Its about you, the author. the end.

  4. February 15, 2011 5:49 PM

    Bookmarked, I really like your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

