Skip to content

Going the Distance

September 21, 2010

I did something today that I never in a million years ever thought I would be able to do.

I ran 20 miles.

Twenty Freaking Miles

and you know what?

I felt freaking amazing afterward!!

This is my last long long run before Chicago in a couple of weeks. Was it hard? YES. Did my legs hurt afterward? YES. Did I want Handsome Boyfriend to perform an open faciotomy on my calves? YES YES YES.

IMG_1059

However, without him today driving along my route with me and feeding me gels, water and Gatorade, and also consoling me when I sat in my driveway and bawled after I finished I would not have made it through. I also think that it helped me to run with music. I did my best to compose a playlist 4.1 hours long to be exact, that had a combination of fast upbeat and slower calming songs to pound pavement to.

I have to say that I have not run with my shuffle outside in a year and a half. Ever since I was followed home that one time while I was in college, I swore off music outside while I was running. This time though, hearing Eminem and Fiddy Cent rapping in my ear, kept my motivation up and my courage strong.

IMG_1066

My route today was simple. Run from my house, complete seven laps of the bridges that run across town, and run back. There is real no specific place to run 20 miles where I live I’d be running on back country roads, and if you know anything about NY state drivers, they like to drive as close to you as possible and they do NOT stop for anything. I figured this would be the safest route.  Plus, there were lots of spots for Brian to pull off and fuel me, and there is a gas station right on the corner of the bridge that I could have used the bathroom if I wanted.

The first couple of laps were a breeze. The first 10k was no problem as I felt like I was running with ease and only had to stop for water once. By the time I got to mile 10, my legs started to hurt so I rested for a minute with Brian to stretch, get some gu, and some water, then I was on my way.

IMG_1077

IMG_1061

Once I hit the half marathon point in a little over 2 hours, everything became a mental game for me. I thought to myself, you know? 15 miles is a new distance PR, you’re hurting, stop and walk. Call Brian, he’ll take your aching calves home and roll you out with the stick.

IMG_1112

IMG_1114

But then I thought, Brian did a half ironman on Sunday. You CAN run these 20 miles, You are stronger than you think! and then that became my mantra, You are stronger than this, you are stronger than you think!

IMG_1134

Did I have to stop and stretch a couple of times for a few minutes? Yes. Did I have to walk up the last few hills on the way home? Yes. No shame though right? I did it, I walked less than I ran, and I know that I can do 20 miles. From here it’s just another 10k. Anyone can do that!

Right???

Total time, breaks included : 3:32:31

Not bad right? I’m just a newbie marathoner. I think that if I can keep that pace and stop less, I’ll be able to finish this marathon in 4:45ish. Not bad. It’s an automatic PR and there is no place to go from here but down in time and up in improvement 🙂

The next couple of weeks for me will be a taper. I’m looking at 10 miles next week and then a couple of 6 mile runs. and then it is CHICAGO time!

Get ready Chicago I’m going to Kick your Bootay!

Ps. A special thank you to Handsome Boyfriend Brian for being my Rock today and encouraging me to keep going even though I didn’t think I could possibly take another step. Also, thanks for feeding me nomz and giving me H2O. ❤

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 12:24 AM

    Way to go girlie…that’s awesome! (and nice butt 😉 20 miles is some serious bizness. And wonderful pace too, especially since long runs are generally deemed 30:-1:30 slower than projected race pace.

    • September 22, 2010 8:30 AM

      Thanks! I think he was aiming for my butt or focused in on it when he was taking pictures… go figure

      I just hope I can keep that pace up in Chicago!

  2. September 22, 2010 7:37 AM

    Great job on the 20 miles!

  3. September 22, 2010 11:30 AM

    WOWZAH! way to go! i’m proud of you for pushing through, that’s an incredible feat!

    • September 22, 2010 4:13 PM

      AH! Thank you!! you should have seen the way I cried in my driveway when I finished! At least now I know it’s just another 10k from there! 🙂

  4. September 22, 2010 4:57 PM

    Woo!!!! Congrats on pushing through! That’s awesome. You really are strong. 🙂

    • September 22, 2010 5:09 PM

      Thank you! I am so glad to know that it’s just another 10k after 20, and that I can run 20. 😀

Leave a Reply

