Skip to content

Pasta e fageoli

June 1, 2010

Good afternoon!

Today started off well…. not like I had expected. I had gotten up at an ungodly hour for work this morning only to find out that my name wasn’t on the assignment sheet when I got there. I thought that I had messed up and asked the night charge nurse if I did. Apparently she forgot to put me on the assignment sheet. (love ya nemo :) ) anyway, census was low, someone was on call and so I got to go home.

I proceeded to sleep for four more hours, and then got up and got my day going. I finalized some things for my apartment so that I can have everything off on Sunday when I leave here for good.

I was craving some Italian soul food tonight for dinner so I decided to make some Pasta e Fageoli. One of my favorite recipes that my dad makes :)

Poppa Camp’s Pasta e Fageoli (pasta and beans)

What you need:

1 can of great northern beans

1 can of kidney beans

1 can of chick peas (garbanzo beans)

1 green bell pepper (chopped)

1/2 onion (chopped)

3 small yellow yukon gold potatoes (chopped)

1 box ditallini

1 large can of spaghetti sauce

1 large can of diced tomatoes

3 cloves of garlic (minced)

Salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, basil, parsley (to taste)

What you need to do:

- Put all of your ingredients into a large sauce pot

- Cook on medium high until it starts to boil (leave here and stir occasionally for about a half hour)

- Turn heat down to low and let simmer until all the veggies soften

- Cook your ditallini according to box directions

- add small amounts of pasta to the soup (the pasta will absorb the sauce and will make it very very thick)

- If you like your soup thicker, add more pasta, if you like it soupy, add less or add more sauce.

Enjoy!!

Also, because I was feeling really domestic. I baked some Sugar cookies! (really i’m trying to get rid of all the food in my apartment before I move)

Super Soft Sugar Cookies

What you need:

3/4 cup sugar

1 cup margarine softened

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract (I didnt have it I used lemon)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 cups flour

1 tsp cream of tartar

What you need to do:

- Beat together butter, sugar, vanilla and almond extracts until creamy

- Gradually beat in eggs and baking powder and nutmeg

- Gradually beat in flour.

- Knead dough and place on floured surface

- Roll dough out using rolling pin and use whatever shape cut out you’d like for your cookie

- place on greased cookie sheet at 350 for about 10 minutes until light brown colored.

- let cool on cooling rack and then frost with whatever flavor frosting you’d like :)

For now, the pasta e is cooking, the cookies are frosted and the animals are sleeping

and now I just have to wait until 7:30 to pick up handsome boyfriend from the hospital! perhaps I’ll bring him a cookie… you know, for letting me take his car ;)

enjoy your evening!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 6:16 PM

    I could go for one of those cookies right now ;) They look great!

  2. June 2, 2010 8:14 PM

    oh my goodness. thank you! I swear I think i’ve eaten about 16 of them today haha. :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

